Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Axle Weights
webking185
post May 17 2011, 07:50 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 4423

Hi All, This is my first post, and I'm a total newbie.

I have been in the logistics operations for 3 years, and would like to learn a little more about over the road dispatch.

I have been moving cargo that is legal weight 80,000lbs; I wondering how the weight was calculated (12#, 34#, 34#).
Recently, I heard a truck was over on the drive axle; what does that mean? And how many axles are on a truck? Is there a way I can tell? How are the axles named?

Any explanations is fully appreciated? Thanks

Henry
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
John Ewing
post May 21 2011, 02:26 AM
Post #2

Group: Admin
Member No.: 2

Here's a good explanation of the bridge formula - which is really the basis for weight axle restrictions and limitations.

You generally adjust the weight on each axle by sliding your 5th wheel and your trailer tandems forward or backward as required. You find out how much each axle weights by running through a truck scale at one of the truck stops that offer them. This is usually done after getting loaded and before getting too far from the shipper in case you're over weight and have to have them take something off.

If you have any other questions let me know.

--------------------
John Ewing
The Truckers Helper
Don't forget to get the latest Online Update

+Quote Post
Ferdnand
post May 21 2012, 12:25 AM
Post #3

Group: Members
Member No.: 4628

Hello, You can make this a sticky if you want.. I have been using an easy formula so you don't have to keep re weighing to get your trailer tandems right..

1. Scale your truck and trailer
2. Subtract your Drives - tandem weight= _______#
3. Take your answer and divide by 2=________#